• Decrease font size
  • Increase font size
  • Print Page
  • Print to PDF

NSW Child Sex Offender Counsellors Accreditation Scheme

The NSW Child Sex Offender Counsellors Accreditation Scheme (CSOCAS) is suspended until early 2022 while improvements are made to the scheme.

Accredited professionals under the scheme have been notified of this change.

The list of accredited professionals whose CSOCAS accreditation was current to 2020 or 2021 (and have a current Working with Children Check clearance) will continue to be displayed during the suspension period.

The NSW Children’s Court has been notified of the situation.

The Office of the Children's Guardian administers a scheme to help you find an accredited counsellor to work with people who sexually offend against children. Information is also provided for qualified people who wish to apply for accreditation under the scheme.

Who benefits from the scheme?

  • Children and young people - the counsellors in the scheme have the best interests of children and young people at heart.
  • Courts - the courts know the counsellor is a recognised expert in the field.
  • Clients - clients work with counsellors who have specialist skills and experience.
  • Counsellors - counsellors are formally recognised for working in this highly specialised field.

How the scheme works

The NSW Child Sex Offender Counsellors Accreditation Scheme promotes the wellbeing of children and young people by establishing a public register of counsellors with the necessary knowledge and skill to work with people who sexually offend against children.

Minimum standards

Accredited professionals are required to:

  • be currently working in a professional counselling capacity
  • be qualified as a psychologist, social worker, psychiatrist or other relevant professional
  • uphold the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ANZATSA) Code of Conduct and Ethics
  • be of good character
  • have a minimum level of education in specific areas relating to counselling child sex offenders, and
  • have a minimum level of professional experience, training  and supervision.

Read the code of conduct (PDF 192.2KB)

Accreditation types and levels

There are two types of accreditation:

  • professionals who work with children and adolescents who sexually harm others
  • professionals who work with adults who sexually offend against children.

There are three levels of accreditation:

  1. Associate
  2. Clinical
  3. Supervisor.

Each accreditation level has different requirements. The requirements are outlined in Application materials.

See the current list of accredited professionals


Applications are assessed twice a year. Closing dates each year are 31 March and 30 September. There is no charge for accreditation which lasts for two years.

Applications for accreditation are assessed by the OCG accreditation panel in accordance with the standards set out in the Guidelines for Applicants.
For more information about CSOCAS please follow the link to our Child Sex Offender Counsellor application materials page or phone us on 02 9286 7276 or email CSOCAS@ocg.nsw.gov.au.

Application materials 

Please refer to the application materials below

Guide for applicants (PDF 90.1KB)

Application form - Associate or Clinical (PDF 253.3KB) 

Application form - Supervisor (PDF 244KB)

Application form - renewal (PDF 230.2KB)